Header Background

Bobcats of the week of May 1, 2006

Will Boe-Wiegaard '06
Three-time All-America tennis player Will Boe-Wiegaard(Georgetown, Conn.) avenged his 6-4, 3-6, 7-6 (10-5) defeat to Trinity College's Brian Marsden on April 20 with a victory over the Bantams' No. 1 singles player in the first round of the NESCAC Championships on Friday April 28, winning convincingly 6-1, 6-3.The victory didn't help the Bobcats to the win -- they lost 4-3 -- but the result was much better than their 7-0 defeat eight days before.

Boe-Wiegaard and the Bobcats hope that sets the tone as they head to the NCAA Division III Championships for the seventh straight year, for a first-round match at Williams College this Friday.

Capping a memorable week, the senior received the Chamber of Commerce President's Award at the Auburn-Lewiston Sports Hall of Fame induction on Sunday. Bates tennis coach and former All-American at Bates Paul Gastonguay was among the inductees into the hall at the same event.

Boe-Wiegaard, who teams up with senior classmate Tristan Beach (Grand Rapids, Mich.) to be currently the fifth-ranked doubles team in Division III, is 14-5 in singles play since the spring season began.

Keelin Godsey '06
Keelin Godsey fatigued? Nope. The senior 13-time All-America thrower finished second at the famous Penn Relays amongst an all-Division I field in the hammer throw on Thursday in Philadelphia.Best of all, his heave of 205 feet and 4 inches qualified him to compete at the USA Track and Field Championships in Indianapolis in June, where America's best in the sport will compete.

Back in Maine two days later for the NESCAC Outdoor Track and Field Championships at Bowdoin, Godsey's hammer throw of 202 feet and 9 inches set a new conference record. He also won the shot put (44-1.5) and the discus throw (142-1) to lead the Bobcats to a fifth-place finish at the meet, their best showing since 2002.

If that wasn't enough, on Sunday Godsey accepted the Chamber of Commerce President's Award at the induction ceremonies for the Auburn-Lewiston Sports Hall of Fame.