Header Background

Tom Farrey to speak at Scholar-Athlete Society ceremony

LEWISTON, Maine -- Investigative journalist and ESPN correspondent Tom Farrey will deliver the keynote address at the fourth annual Bates College Scholar-Athlete Society ceremony and be inducted as an honorary member. The ceremony takes place in Alumni Gymnasium on Saturday, May 30, from 5 to 6:30 p.m.

The Bates Scholar-Athlete Society was created in 2005 to underscore the college's commitment to the scholar-athlete ideal. The society includes seniors, nominated by their coaches, who have compiled a 3.5 grade point average or received a special nomination from faculty and staff for distinguished academic achievement in their junior and senior years. To be eligible for induction, student-athletes must participate in a varsity sport for at least three years.

The 28 class of 2009 inductees to the Bates Scholar-Athlete Society include Alexandra D. Goldstein and Matthew P. Martone, the recipients of the 33rd Milton L. Lindholm Scholar-Athlete awards as the male and female varsity letter-winning athletes with the highest cumulative grade point averages. The class of 2009 honorees also include Isabel S. Alexander, Mark R. Andrews, Megan S. Arnold, Caryn L. Benisch, Thomas M. Bowden, Deacon H. Chapin, Leah A. Citrin, Samuel T. Evans-Brown, Hope P. Fleming, Samuel M. Geller, Tara M. Higgins, Bailey M. Johnson, Nathan S. Kellogg, Jennifer P. Marino, Caitlin J. Murphy, Christopher J. Murray, Timothy D. Natriello, Duane M. Pelz, Nicole c. Ritchie, Charles A. Russell, Jessie K. Smith, Dillon B. Tung, Leslie E. Wade, IV, Walter R. Weisskopf, Amy L. Werblin and Sarah K. Young.

In addition to honoring graduating students, the society also annually inducts alumni who distinguish themselves as scholars and athletes in their professional careers, as well as a faculty member or coach who has fostered the scholar-athlete ideal.

This year's alumni inductees into the Bates Scholar-Athlete Society include: Karen A. Harris '74, a former field hockey player and skier at Bates, a highly successful organizational consultant, former member of the Bates Board of Trustees and former Bates assistant dean of admissions; Milton L. Lindolm '35, the Dean of Admissions at Bates for 32 years, a former center on the Bates football team that famously tied Yale 0-0; James L. Moody '53, a four-year member of the Bates men's basketball team, a philanthropist, the former CEO and Chairman of the Board of Hannaford Brothers and the Chair of the Bates College Board of Trustees; and Joanne Trogler Reynolds '58, a lifelong athlete, a highly successful real estate broker and a former member of the Bates Board of Trustees.

The faculty member inductee will be Dr. John Cole, Thomas Hedley Reynolds Professor of History.

Farrey is an investigative journalist whose work has been recognized for excellence in print, on television, and online. A correspondent with ESPN’s prime-time newsmagazine E:60, he also has reported on air for ESPN’s Outside the Lines and SportsCenter, as well as for ESPN.com and ESPN The Magazine, where he is a senior writer. In 2008, Mr. Farrey’s acclaimed book, "Game On: The All-American Race to Make Champions of Our Children" was awarded the "Sports Education Book of the Year" by the Institute for International Sport at the University of Rhode Island.  Mr. Farrey has also won two Emmy Awards for outstanding sports journalism.