Header Background

Eight Bobcats named to NESCAC Fall All-Sportsmanship Team









HADLEY, Mass. -- Eight Bates students were named to the 2010 NESCAC Fall All-Sportsmanship Team, announced Tuesday by the New England Small College Athletic Conference.

The All-Sportsmanship Team is comprised of one student athlete from each institution for each sport, and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team for their positive contributions to sportsmanship. The student-athlete selected must be in good academic standing and a member of the team at the conclusion of the season in order to be eligible for selection.

Bates' representatives on the team include women's cross country junior Rebecca Dugan for the second straight year. The eight honorees are:

  • Men's Cross Country: Andrew Wortham, So.; Newton, Mass.
  • Women's Cross Country: Rebecca Dugan, Jr.; Port Murray, N.J.
  • Field Hockey: Annie Wilson, Sr.; Chagrin Falls, Ohio
  • Football: Ted Durkin, Sr.; Rye Beach, N.H.
  • Golf: John Canney, Sr.; North Clarendon, Vt.
  • Men's Soccer: Nick Barron, So.; Kirkwood, Mo.
  • Women's Soccer: Meredith Poore, Sr.; Duxbury, Mass.
  • Volleyball: Rachel Colby, Sr.; Willimantic, Conn.

The All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport, but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. Through their positive actions and example, these student athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship that the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.

View the entire NESCAC Fall 2010 All-Sportsmanship Team