Header Background

Scholar-Athlete Society to welcome 35 Class of 2010 members

LEWISTON, Maine -- The Bates Scholar-Athlete Society will induct 35 members from the graduating Class of 2010, in addition to four alumni and a faculty/coach representative, at its sixth annual ceremony. The ceremony takes place in Alumni Gymnasium on Saturday, May 29, from 5 to 6:30 p.m.

The Bates Scholar-Athlete Society was created in 2005 to underscore the college's commitment to the scholar-athlete ideal. The society includes seniors, nominated by their coaches, who have compiled a 3.5 grade point average or received a special nomination from faculty and staff for distinguished academic achievement in their junior and senior years. To be eligible for induction, student-athletes must participate in a varsity sport for at least three years.

The 35 Class of 2010 inductees to the Bates Scholar-Athlete Society include Rachel Eades and Robert Friedlander, the recipients of the 34th Milton L. Lindholm Scholar-Athlete awards as the male and female varsity letter-winning athletes with the highest cumulative grade point averages. The graduating honorees also include Katherine Bash, Maxwell Berger, Carlos Castro, Brandon Cooper, Nicolas DeFrancis, Molly Dilworth, Danica Doroski, Katelyn Drake, Lily Gordon, James Grant, Jean Gulliver, Connor Hogan, Brittany Johnston, Glenn Kelly, Sarah Kwoh, Hannah Laverty, Elizabeth Leberman, Joshua Linscott, Peter Litwin, Alexander MacNaughton, Kush Mahan, Avery Masters, Jean McIntyre, Ngoc Pham, Molly Radis, Sarah Reingold, Michael Reiss, Nicholas Sampson, Abigail Samuelson, Benjamin Smeltzer, Griffin Stabler, Luke Strathmann and Lindsay Thomson.

In addition to honoring graduating students, the society also annually inducts alumni who distinguish themselves as scholars and athletes in their professional careers, as well as a faculty member or coach who has fostered the scholar-athlete ideal. This year's alumni inductees into the Bates Scholar-Athlete Society include Erik Bertelsen '72, a longtime administrator in higher education, a successful prep school basketball coach and a 1,000-point scorer for the Bates men's basketball team; David Boone '62, a successful manufacturing executive, longtime volunteer supporter of the College and a former football and track standout at Bates; Dr. Leslie Dean '77, a noted hand surgeon in Alaska who played four sports at Bates, including varsity field hockey and badminton; and Col. Stephanie Smith '87, a highly decorated commanding officer and lawyer in the U.S. Marine Corps, who still holds the Bates women's lacrosse career goals record. The faculty/coach member inductee will be Suzanne Coffey, former women's lacrosse coach and director of athletics at Bates, now the athletic director at Amherst College.