Header Background

Eleven Bates skiers earn USCSA All-Academic Team recognition












LEWISTON, Maine -- Eleven members of Bates College's alpine and Nordic ski teams earned 2011 All-Academic Intercollegiate Ski Team recognition on Monday from the United States Collegiate Ski Coaches Association.

To qualify for the award, student-athletes must have a grade point average of 3.50 or better in the Fall 2010 semester, and have competed in the regional championships.

Six members of Bates' alpine teams earned the award: senior Ross Brockman (Sudbury, Mass.), a philosophy major; senior John Canney (North Clarendon, Vt.), a politics major; first-year Anne Carroll (Wellesley, Mass.), who has not declared a major yet; senior August Felix (Cambridge, Mass.), an environmental studies major; senior Micaela Holland (Belmont, Mass.), a sociology major; and junior Alex Jones (Whitehouse Station, N.J.), an economics major. Canney, Holland and Jones all qualified for the NCAA National Collegiate Skiing Championships.

Five members of Bates' Nordic ski teams also were named to the USCSA All-Academic Intercollegiate Ski Team: senior Kirsten Gill (Jackson, N.H.), who majors in both studio art and French; first-year Alex Hamilton (Truckee, Calif.), who has not yet declared a major; sophomore Lucas Milliken (North Yarmouth, Maine), an anthropology major; senior Natalie Ruppertsberger (Plainfield, N.H.), a biology major; and first-year Sean Woods (Gypsum, Colo.), who hasn't yet declared a major. Both Gill and Ruppertsberger represented Bates at last week's NCAA National Collegiate Skiing Championships.

Only Dartmouth and Williams had more awardees among Bates' rivals in the Eastern Intercollegiate Ski Association.

See the USCSA All-Academic Intercollegiate Ski Team release