Header Background

Scholar-Athlete Society to welcome 28 Class of 2011 members

LEWISTON, Maine -- The Bates Scholar-Athlete Society will induct 28 members of the graduating Class of 2011, in addition to four alumni and a faculty/coach representative, at its seventh annual ceremony. The ceremony takes place in Alumni Gymnasium on Saturday, May 28, from 5 to 6:30 p.m. The keynote speaker will be Dan Lebowitz, the executive director of the Center for the Study of Sport in Society at Northeastern University.

The Bates Scholar-Athlete Society was created in 2005 to underscore the college's commitment to the scholar-athlete ideal. The society includes seniors, nominated by their coaches, who have compiled a 3.5 grade point average or received a special nomination from faculty and staff for distinguished academic achievement in their junior and senior years. To be eligible for induction, student-athletes must participate in a varsity sport for at least three years.

The 28 Class of 2011 inductees to the Bates Scholar-Athlete Society include Dana Lindauer and Cody Newman, the recipients of the 35th Milton L. Lindholm Scholar-Athlete awards as the male and female varsity letter-winning athletes with the highest cumulative grade point averages. The graduating honorees also include Alexandria Alberto, David Beck, Tristan Black-Ingersoll, Chloe Bourne, Rachel Colby, Douglass Compton, Zoe Donaldson, Kirsten Gill, Sara Ellen Godek, Charlotte Green, Peter Gurney, Anna Hogeland, Emily Howe, Jessica Igoe, Jennifer Krupski, Kirsten Laaspere, Dae Ro Lee, Kerri Leonhardt, Ellen Patterson, Natalie Ruppertsberger, Nicholas Schmiemann, Jacob Simon, Alexandra Steverson, Benjamin Taska, Luke Wamboldt and Emma White.

In addition to honoring graduating students, the society also annually inducts alumni who distinguish themselves as scholars and athletes in their professional careers, as well as a faculty member or coach who has fostered the scholar-athlete ideal. This year's alumni inductees into the Bates Scholar-Athlete Society include:

Ted M. Beal '64, a former school administrator in New Jersey who moved into a successful business career with AXA/Equitable Financial Companies; Nancy Ingersoll Fiddler '78, Bates' first female Olympic athlete, who skied for the U.S. at the Winter Olympics in 1988 and 1992, who remains active as a Bates alumna and in the sport of cross-country skiing; Candice Poiss Murray '92; a track and field and field hockey athlete at Bates who is now Commissioner of the North Eastern Athletic Conference; and Ira Waldman '73, a former football player at Bates who is now a highly regarded real estate lawyer in southern California and a dedicated alumnus and father of two Bates student-athletes. The faculty/coach member inductee will be William "Chick" Leahey '52, the head baseball coach at Bates from 1955 to 1990 and a longtime assistant coach with Bates' football and men's basketball programs.

Lebowitz has led Northeastern's Center for the Study of Sport in Society since 2008. A leading social justice organization, Sport in Society uses sport to create change through research, education and advocacy and to promote physical activity, health, violence prevention and diversity among young people and college and professional athletes. A leader in the discussions about the role of sports in promoting inclusion and social responsibility, Lebowitz has been referenced in national media including Newsweek, The New York Times, The Washington Post and ESPN.