Header Background

Scholar-Athlete Society to welcome 33 Class of 2012 members

LEWISTON, Maine -- The Bates Scholar-Athlete Society will induct 33 members of the graduating Class of 2012, in addition to four alumni and a faculty/coach representative, at its eighth annual ceremony in Alumni Gymnasium on Saturday, May 26, at 5:30 p.m. The event's keynote speaker will be Steve Fuller '82, the Senior Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer at L.L. Bean, who is also a Bates parent and trustee.

The Bates Scholar-Athlete Society was created in 2005 to underscore the college's commitment to the scholar-athlete ideal. The society includes seniors, nominated by their coaches, who have compiled a 3.5 grade point average or received a special nomination from faculty and staff for distinguished academic achievement in their junior and senior years. To be eligible for induction, student-athletes must participate in a varsity sport for at least three years.

The 33 Class of 2012 inductees to the Bates Scholar-Athlete Society include Devin Dilts and Jessica Howard, recipients of the 36th Milton L. Lindholm Scholar-Athlete awards as the male and female varsity letter-winning athletes with the highest cumulative grade point averages. The graduating honorees also include Kiely Barnard-Webster, Mariah Barstow, Erika Blauth, Nicolle Bugajski, Elizabeth Carleton, Sean Colligan, Jenna Dannis, Allison DiSalvo, Lauren Dobish, Casey Dropkin, Rebecca Dugan, Jacqueline Easton, Brian Goldberg, Abigail Hanson, Luke Harmeling, Michael Jiang, Gwynneth Johnson, Juliana Kirkland, Carole Lupi, Leah Maciejewski, Sarah Merullo, Tessa Pals, Caroline Pierce, Taylor Piers, Margaret Reilly, Amanda Sirianni, Haley Sive, Richard Sullivan III, Karen Ullmann, Alix Vandeventer and David Wood.

In addition to honoring graduating students, the society also annually inducts alumni who distinguish themselves as scholars and athletes in their professional careers, as well as a faculty member or coach who has fostered the scholar-athlete ideal. This year's alumni inductees into the Bates Scholar-Athlete Society include:

Karen Holler '83, a clinical neuropsychologist at Brown University and former track and field standout at Bates, who remains the team's record-holder in the indoor high jump; Katie Moran Madden '93, former associate dean of admissions at Bates and an All-American swimmer with the Bobcats; Howard Vandersea '63, Bates' first football All-American, who coached football teams, and many other coaches to be, at Springfield and Bowdoin colleges, and who was inducted into the Maine Sports Hall of Fame last weekend; and Kim Wettlaufer '80, the executive director of the Trinity Jubilee Center in Lewiston and one of the all-time great distance runners on the Bates men's track and cross country teams. The faculty/coach member inductee will be Leigh Campbell '64, Bates' longtime Director of Financial Aid, who has kept the scorebook at Bates men's basketball games for 43 seasons.

Fuller, a member of the varsity ski team and the Outing Club while a Bates student, took over L.L. Bean's marketing responsibilities in 2002, and oversees all marketing functions including advertising, creative, customer planning, e-commerce, advertising, database segmentation and operations. Fuller has been on the boards of several environmental and outdoor organizations, and he has been highly involved as a Bates alumnus -- he joined the Board of Trustees in 2009, is a member of the college's Master Planning Steering Committee, and was a member of the search committee that nominated Clayton Spencer as Bates' eighth president.