Header Background

Six Bobcats named to NESCAC Winter All-Sportsmanship Team






HADLEY, Mass. -- Six Bates students were named to the 2012 NESCAC Winter All-Sportsmanship Team, announced Tuesday by the New England Small College Athletic Conference.

The All-Sportsmanship Team is comprised of one student athlete from each institution for each sport, and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team for their positive contributions to sportsmanship. The student-athlete selected must be in good academic standing and a member of the team at the conclusion of the season in order to be eligible for selection.

Among Bates' awardees is one student-athlete who also earned NESCAC All-Conference honors in her sport: senior Kara Leasure (Los Alamos, N.M.), the NESCAC 200-breaststroke champion, who will compete in the event at the NCAA Championships on March 24.

Bates' representatives on the team are:

Men's Basketball: Reid Christian, Sr.; Pownal, Maine
Women's Basketball: Taryn O'Connell, Jr.; Georgetown, Mass.
Men's Squash: Andy Cannon, Fy.; Greenwich, Conn.
Women's Squash: Lesea Bourke, Fy.; Greenwich, Conn.
Men's Swimming and Diving: Travis Jones, Jr.; Ithaca, N.Y.
Women's Swimming and Diving: Kara Leasure, Sr.; Los Alamos, N.M.

The All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport, but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. Through their positive actions and example, these student athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship that the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.

2012 NESCAC Winter All-Sportsmanship Team