Header Background

Scholar-Athlete Society to induct 35 from Class of 2013

LEWISTON, Maine -- The Bates Scholar-Athlete Society will induct 35 members of the graduating Class of 2013, in addition to three alumni and two faculty/coach representatives, at its ninth annual ceremony in Olin Arts Center on Saturday, May 25, at 5pm. The event’s keynote speaker will be Bates College President Clayton Spencer.

The Bates Scholar-Athlete Society was created in 2005 to underscore the college’s commitment to the scholar-athlete ideal. The society includes seniors, nominated by their coaches, who have compiled a 3.5 grade point average or received a special nomination from faculty and staff for distinguished academic achievement in their junior and senior years. To be eligible for induction, student-athletes must participate in a varsity sport for at least three years.

The 35 Class of 2013 inductees to the Bates Scholar-Athlete Society include David Born and Samantha Rose, recipients of the 37th Milton L. Lindholm Scholar-Athlete awards as the male and female varsity letter-winning athletes with the highest cumulative grade point averages. The graduating honorees also include Erin Augulewicz, Allison Beaulieu, Matthew Bettles, Myles Black-Ingersoll, Michelle Brady, Jennifer Brallier, Ashley Brunk, Leah Burke, Charles Carey, Lindsay Cullen, Alicia Fannon, Linnea Fulton, Lauren Hadiaris, Nora Hanagan, Michael Hanley, David Hardison, Jacquelyn Holmes, Travis Jones, Elise Levesque, Ryan March, Lucas Milliken, Taryn O'Connell, John Graham Pearsall, Kristen Poulin, Lisa Reedich, Kevin Regan, Nicole Santosuosso, Ellen Schneider, Ryan Sonberg, Paul Troiano, Catherine Tuttle, Andrew Wortham and Catherine Zingale.

In addition to honoring graduating students, the society also annually inducts alumni who distinguish themselves as scholars and athletes in their professional careers, as well as one or more faculty members or coaches who have fostered the scholar-athlete ideal.

This year’s alumni inductees into the Bates Scholar-Athlete Society include:

Dorothy Albert '82, a 12-season athlete at Bates (basketball, soccer and softball) who is now a principal and deputy managing partner at Deloitte LLP; Justin Freeman '98, an elite Nordic skier and distance runner at Bates who competed in the 2006 Winter Olympics, and who currently chairs the mathematics department at New Hampton School in New Hampton, N.H.; and Jeffrey Sturgis '69, a football standout at Bates who has devoted his professional life to teaching and school administration in Maine, and is a former Board of Trustees member who remains a dedicated Bates alumnus.

This year's faculty, staff or coach inductees to the Scholar-Athlete Society are Assistant Athletic Director Marsha Graef and Associate Dean of Students James Reese, both of whom have been fixtures around campus and at sporting events for decades while championing the scholar-athlete ideal.

Spencer, the eighth president of the college, took office on July 1, 2012, and in the space of a year, she has become a strong supporter of Bates Athletics. President Spencer came to Bates after more than 15 years as a leader at Harvard University, including as Vice President for Policy since 2005. At the same time, she was Executive Dean of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study and a lecturer at Harvard's Graduate School of Education. Spencer is former Chief Education Counsel to the U.S. Senate Committee on Labor and Human Resources, and was responsible for staffing for the late U.S. Senator Edward M. Kennedy in his capacity as chairman and then-ranking member of the committee. Previously she clerked for Judge Rya W. Zobel of the U.S. District Court in Massachusetts, practiced law at Ropes & Gray in Boston, and then served as Assistant U.S. Attorney in Boston. She holds a J.D. from Yale, a B.A. in theology from Oxvford and a Master of Arts from Harvard in the study of religion. While an undergraduate student at Williams College, President Spencer played varsity basketball for the Ephs.