Header Background

Field hockey team garners academic awards from NFHCA

Erin Chandler '08

Katelyn Drake '10

Katherine Forester '07

Naima Murphy '10

Megan Petry '07

Sarah Sprague '07

Helena Turner '10


LEWISTON, Maine -- The Bates College field hockey team earned a 2006 Division III National Academic Team Award from the National Field Hockey Coaches Association, the NFHCA announced on Tuesday. Bates is one of 86 teams to receive the award, which goes to teams that post mean grade point averages of 3.0 or higher.

In addition, seven members of the Bobcats were named to the 2006 NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad, for athletes who have a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher through the Fall 2006 semester. The seven honored Bobcats are junior Erin Chandler (Thornton, Pa.), first-year Katelyn Drake (Hudson, Ohio), senior Katherine Forester (West Windsor, N.J.), first-year Naima Murphy (Chicago, Ill.), senior Megan Petry (Crestwood, Ky.), senior Sarah Sprague (Cleveland, Ohio) and first-year Helena Turner (Manchester, Mass.).

NFHCA Division III National Academic Team Awardees

NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad