Header Background

Helm, Jackson named to All-NESCAC men's lax team

Mac Jackson '15 became Bates' first-ever All-NESCAC specialist in men's lacrosse. (File photo by Hank Schless '14)

HADLEY, Mass. -- Bates senior defender Kevin Helm and first-year faceoff specialist Mac Jackson were among the honorees on Thursday as the New England Small College Athletic Conference released its Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Team.

Helm (Norwell, Mass.), a Second Team All-NESCAC selection in 2011, was named to the All-NESCAC First Team this year, while Jackson was named the specialist on the All-NESCAC Second Team.

Helm led a Bates defense that ranked seventh in the NESCAC in goals-against average, at 8.12 per game. A physical and disruptive force in the back, Helm led the Bobcats with 19 caused turnovers and also collected 30 ground balls. He also surprised opponents this year by scoring his second career goal and adding the first two assists of his career.

A true two-sport standout, Helm was also a First Team Defense selection at linebacker this past fall on the 2011 All-NESCAC Football Team, after leading the league in solo tackles for the second straight year.

Jackson (Hood River, Ore.) led the Bobcats and was tied for eighth in the NESCAC in ground balls per game, with 4.23. The vast majority of those ground balls coincided with winning the faceoff for Bates. Jackson, who took 78 percent of Bates' faceoffs on the season, ranked fifth in the conference in faceoff percentage, at a lofty .551, with the four players ahead of him comprising one junior and three seniors. In Bates' March 24 game against Trinity, Jackson won 18 of 19 faceoffs and collected 13 ground balls. Jackson also emerged as a dangerous scoring threat after winning faceoffs, netting four goals on the season, eighth-most on the team.

Jackson is Bates' first All-NESCAC specialist in the 12-year history of the awards, and the first non-defender picked from the Bobcats since 2007, when attackman Justin Simon '08 and midfielder Brent Morin '08 were awarded.

NESCAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Team