Header Background

Bettles selected to compete at NCAA Men's Tennis Championships

Matt Bettles '13 will be one of 32 players competing for the singles title at the 2011 NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championship in Claremont, Calif.



INDIANAPOLIS -- Bates College sophomore Matt Bettles (Taunton, England) received his first invitation to compete in the NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championships on Wednesday. Bettles is one of 32 players from across the country who will compete for the singles championship, while he and fellow sophomore Rob Crampton (Wilton, Conn.) were named as alternates for the doubles championship.

The individual championships consist of 32 singles players and 16 doubles teams. The selection of teams and individuals for the championships is based on won-lost record, strength of schedule and eligibility and availability of student-athletes. The team championship will be held May 24-26, and the singles and doubles championships will be held May 27-29. The finals will be held at Claremont-Mudd-Scripps and Pomona-Pitzer Colleges in Claremont, Calif.

Any singles player or doubles team that scratches from the tournament will be replaced by the next individual or doubles team from their region.

The draw for the individual championships will be done by the men’s and women’s tennis committees and will be released on the last day of the team championships.

Bettles played No. 1 singles for the Bobcats this season, accumulating a record of 16-12 against opponents' top players, earning a national player ranking of 14th and a regional ranking of seventh by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association. Bettles and Crampton, meanwhile, were the fourth-ranked doubles team in the Northeast, posting a head-to-head record of 15-7 against opponents' top duos.

Bettles will be the first Bobcat to compete at the NCAA Tennis Championships since Amrit Rupasinghe '10 and Ben Stein '09 won the NCAA doubles title in 2009 at Claremont-McKenna. Stein also competed in the singles draw that year and made it to the finals.

See the NCAA announcement at this link.