Header Background

Men's track and field wins 9th state outdoor title in 10 years







LEWISTON, Maine -- The Bates College men's track and field team took first place Saturday at the Maine State Men's Outdoor Championships, the Bobcats' second straight outdoor state title and their ninth in the last 10 years. The 112th edition of the annual meet, which dates back to 1895, took place at Bates' Russell Street Track.

Bates scored 251 points, followed by Bowdoin with 175, Colby with 108 and Southern Maine with 76.

Bates senior Chris Murtagh (Rowley, Mass.) won the Frederick D. Tootel Memorial Award as Most Outstanding Field Performer. Murtagh took first place in two events and second place in two others. The one-time All-American, who broke Bates' hammer throw record last weekend, missed setting the state meet's hammer record by two inches, placing first at 191-4. Murtagh also won the discus at 149-8, and he was also second in the shot put (49-3), behind sophomore teammate David Pless (Atlanta, Ga.), and the also the runner-up in the javelin throw, behind junior teammate Duncan Briggs (Arrowsic, Maine).

Briggs won the javelin at 184-4, and also finished third in the triple jump, at 40-10 1/4. Pless won the shot put at 53-2 1/4, and was also second in both the hammer (168-2) and discus (145-5).

The Bobcats' three other event winners were senior Tom Esponnette (Auburn, Maine) in the 1,500 meters (4:03.35), sophomore Anthony Haeuser (South Portland, Maine) in the 110-meter hurdles (15.41) and sophomore Noah Graboys (Wilmette, Ill.) in the 5,000 meters (15:07.30).

No meet or facility records fell on the day.

Link to Complete Results

Maine State Men's Outdoor Track & Field Championships
April 23 at Russell Street Track, Lewiston, Maine

Team Scores
1) Bates 251 2) Bowdoin 175 3) Colby 108 4) Southern Maine 76

Event Winners
10,000-meter run -- Stan Berkow, Bowdoin, 32:48.83
3,000-meter steeplechase -- James Boeding, Bowdoin, 9:35.64
400-meter relay -- Colby, 43.36
1,500-meter run -- Tom Esponnette, Bates, 4:03.35
110-meter hurdles -- Anthony Haeuser, Bates, 15.41
400-meter dash -- Parker Chipman, USM, 50.37
100-meter dash -- Dominique Kone, Colby, 11.06
800-meter run -- Colin Fong, Bowdoin, 1:58.25
400-meter hurdles -- David Lowe, Colby, 56.05
200-meter dash -- David Bean, Bowdoin, 22.90
5,000-meter run -- Noah Graboys, Bates, 15:07.30
1,600-meter relay -- Colby, 3:27.44
Hammer throw -- Chris Murtagh, Bates, 191-4
Pole vault -- Trent Wiseman, Colby, 15-7
Long jump -- Chris Martin, Bowdoin, 21-6
Shot put -- David Pless, Bates, 53-2 1/4
High jump -- Ryan Storey, USM, 6-2
Triple jump -- Sam Chick, Bowdoin, 49-9 3/4
Discus throw -- Chris Murtagh, Bates, 149-8
Javelin throw -- Duncan Briggs, Bates, 184-4

Alan G. Hillman Award (Outstanding Track Performer): David Lowe, Colby

Frederick D. Tootel Award (Outstanding Field Performer): Chris Murtagh, Bates