Header Background

Men's track and field sweeps All-NESCAC awards

Sean Enos became the third Bobcat in six years to be named Most Outstanding Rookie Performer. (Photo by Tom Leonard '78)

NESCAC Coach of the Year Al Fereshetian has won five COTY honors over four consecutive seasons. (Photo by Tom Leonard '78)

HADLEY, Mass. -- The recently crowned NESCAC champion Bates men's track and field team raked in 20 All-NESCAC honors and the three major honors on Wednesday, as the New England Small College Athletic Conference released its official All-Conference Track & Field teams.

Junior David Pless (Atlanta, Ga.) earned the Sabasteanski Award as the Outstanding Male Performer in the meet. Against some stiff competition, Pless nonetheless had to be the clear choice, after winning all three of his events -- the shot put (57-2), discus throw (175-9) and hammer throw (194-8) -- while setting meet records in two of them (shot put and hammer) and facility records in all three. It marks the third straight year that Bates has swept the shot put, hammer and discus at the NESCAC Championship.

Pless's first-year teammate Sean Enos (Lynnfield, Mass.) was named Most Outstanding Rookie Performer. Enos scored more points than any thrower in the conference not named Pless -- 20, to be exact, as he finished second in the shot put (51-6.25), third in the discus (150-9) and third in the hammer (166-6).

And Bates head coach Al Fereshetian was named the NESCAC Men's Track & Field Coach of the Year for the second straight year. Fereshetian claimed the award a year ago when he led the Bobcats to their second runner-up finish in three years. Since then, he has strung together Coach of the Year award in four consecutive athletic seasons -- he was NESCAC Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year last fall, and he was New England Division III Men's Indoor Track & Field Coach of the Year in March. Fereshetian was also the USTFCCCA New England Men's Outdoor Coach of the Year in 2011.

Beyond the three major awards, Bates reaped 20 All-NESCAC individual honors, based on top-three event performances at the meet on Saturday. They are, in alphabetical order:

  • Junior Nick Barron (Kirkwood, Mo.) earned two, for the 800 meters (second) and as part of the third-place 4x400 relay team;
  • Senior Peter Corcoran (Stillwater, Minn.), as part of the second-place distance medley relay team;
  • Enos earned three, in the shot, discus and hammer;
  • Senior Sam Goldstein (Memphis, Tenn.), second in the pole vault;
  • Sophomore Noah Graboys (Glencoe, Ill.), as part of the DMR team;
  • Sophomore Tully Hannan (West Hartford, Conn.), second in the 5,000 meters;
  • Junior David Hardison (South Portland, Maine), as part of the 4x400 relay;
  • Junior Zak Kofos (Marlborough, Mass.), second in the javelin throw;
  • Junior James LePage (Cumberland, Maine), third in the 800 and as part of the 4x400 relay;
  • Pless in the shot, discus and hammer;
  • Junior Adam Spencer (Wellesley, Mass.), as part of the 4x400 relay;
  • First-year John Stansel (Newburyport, Mass.), as part of the DMR;
  • First-year Eric Wainman (Glastonbury, Conn.), as part of the 4x400 relay;
  • Junior Andrew Wortham (Newton, Mass.), third in the 3,000 steeplechase.

Enos is Bates' third Most Outstanding Rookie in the past six years, following Rich McNeil in 2007 and Chris Murtagh in 2008 -- all three came from the same high school, St. John's Prep in Danvers, Mass.

2012 NESCAC Track & Field All-Conference Teams release (PDF)