Header Background

Men's cross country dominates Maine State Championship

Tully Hannan '14 finished second overall, heading five Bobcats in the top seven. (File photo by Tom Leonard '78)

NEW GLOUCESTER, Maine -- The No. 9 nationally ranked Bates men's cross country team had five runners in the top seven for a dominating team win in the Maine State Intercollegiate Cross Country Championships, hosted by Bates on Saturday at Pineland Farms.

The Bobcats scored 23 points, 20 ahead of runner-up Bowdoin (43), ending the Polar Bears' six-year run as state champions. Bowdoin sophomore Coby Horowitz was the individual champion for the second straight year, erasing Bates sophomore Tully Hannan's (West Hartford, Conn.) sizable lead over the final mile of the 5-mile course. Horowitz finished the race in 25:53, while Hannan was second in 25:59.

The top seven individuals earn All-State honors, and the Bobcats claimed five of those honors. After Hannan, sophomore Noah Graboys (Glencoe, Ill.) had his best race of the season, taking third place in 26:09. Graboys, whose sophomore season got off to a slow start due to injury, was the runner-up in the 2010 state meet by a margin of less than a second.

Southern Maine's John Vallo finished fourth in 26:10, followed by Bates junior Andrew Wortham (Newton, Mass.) in 26:14, senior Devin Dilts (Roscoe, Ill.) in 26:15 and junior Ken Whitney (West Hartford, Conn.) in seventh place at 26:20. It is the fourth All-State cross country honor for Dilts, and the second for Hannan, Graboys and Wortham.

Bates' sixth and seventh runners were early non-scoring displacers. In 10th and 11th places, respectively, were senior Ben Chebot (Newton, Mass.) in 26:39 and sophomore Mike Martin (Slatersville, R.I.) in 26:43.

Next up for the Bobcats is the NESCAC Cross Country Championship, taking place at Amherst on Oct. 29. The women's race starts at 11 a.m., followed by the men's race at 12 p.m.

Men's Team Results
1. Bates 23; 2. Bowdoin 43; 3. Southern Maine 70; 4. Colby 115; 5. U. of New England 167; 6. Maine-Farmington 225; 7. Maine-Presque Isle 237; 8. Maine Maritime 243; 9. St. Joseph's 257; 10. Unity 270; 11. Thomas 309; 12. Maine-Machias 340

Top 7 Individuals
1. Coby Horowitz (Bowdoin) 25:53; 2. Tully Hannan (Bates) 25:59; 3. Noah Graboys (Bates) 26:09; 4. John Vallo (Southern Maine) 26:10; 5. Andrew Wortham (Bates) 26:14; 6. Devin Dilts (Bates) 26:15; 7. Ken Whitney (Bates) 26:20.