Header Background

Taylor, Grossman, Buetow all named to NCAA Skiing Championships

Jordan Buetow '14 will make his first appearance in the NCAA Skiing Championships. (File photo by Cory Ransom/EISA)

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Bates Nordic ski team will have three representatives competing at the 2012 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Skiing Championships, as on Monday the NCAA Men’s and Women’s Skiing Committee announced the 74 men and 74 women selected to participate in alpine and Nordic events. Senior Beth Taylor (Norwich, Vt.) and first-year Hallie Grossman (South Woodstock, Vt.) are in the women's field, and sophomore Jordan Buetow (Fairbanks, Alaska) was named to the men's field.

Hosted by Montana State University, the championships' Nordic races are to be held March 7th and 9th at Bohart Ranch in Bozeman, Mont.

Taylor assembled an outstanding senior season to become a shoo-in selection, ranking eighth in the East in the NCAA Qualifiers rankings (best 2 + 2 combined). She ranked seventh overall in freestyle races, and 10th in classical technique.

Grossman has also been consistently strong from start to finish in her first EISA carnival season. In the classic races, she has finished between 12th and 19th place in all five outings.

Buetow made a big leap from his terrific rookie season -- when he led a youthful men's squad in every carnival race -- into one of the very best freestyle skiers in the East, and a good, and still improving, performer in classic races. Buetow ranked 14th overall in the East.

Bates will also send three alpine skiers: senior Alex Jones (Whitehouse Station, N.J.) will compete in the men's races, while on the women's side first-years Avril Dunleavy (Salt Lake City, Utah) and Emily Hayes (Natick, Mass.) will compete for the Bobcats. All six of Bates' representatives will be competing at NCAAs for the first time, although Jones qualified last year as well, but became the "odd man out" because of the event's three-per-team limit.

Participants are selected on a regional basis from two designated regions for Alpine skiing (East and West Regions) and three designated regions for Nordic skiing (Central, East and West Regions). Bids are awarded to regions using a formula determined by the skiing committee. A maximum of 12 student-athletes (three per gender per discipline) may participate from an institution.

Nordic events will be held at Bohart Ranch Cross Country Ski Center. The men’s 10-kilometer and women’s five-kilometer freestyle cross-country races will be conducted March 7.  The women’s 15-kilometer and men’s 20-kilometer classical races will be held March 9.

Alpine events will run at Bridger Bowl. The men’s and women’s giant slaloms will be held March 8, with the men’s and women’s slaloms conducted March 10.

See the complete field and NCAA announcement