Header Background

Women's rowing set to go at NCAA Championships

The Bates women's rowing team at the NCAA Championships.
Back row, left to right: Head Coach Peter Steenstra, Caitlin Murphy '09, Nicole Ritchie '09, Allison Di Salvo '12, Rebecca Waldo '11, Alison Frye '10, Elizabeth Sonshine '12, Haley Sive '12, Laura Hubbell '09, Carrie Dougherty '09, Emma White '11, Davina Dukuly '11, Phoebe Reed '11, Ellen Patterson '11, Emily Chandler '09, Danica Doroski '10, Kirsten Laaspere '11, Josie Cutts '09, Assistant Coach Amy Wiesenfeld.

Front Row: Nora Collins '11, Tracy Glazier '11.

Not pictured: Brigit Anderson '12

COOPER RIVER, N.J. -- The Bates College women's rowing team begins competition in its third straight appearance in the NCAA Division III Championships on Friday morning, when the Bobcats begin their quest for their first NCAA women's rowing title and their third straight top-five national finish.

Bates, ranked second in Division III, will row both its first and second eights in the same preliminary heat, the second of three overall, scheduled to start at 8:15 a.m. Friday. Other boats in the race include Puget Sound I, Willamette and Trinity II. The winner of the heat advances automatically to the Grand Final, while second and third places go to the Grand Qualifier. The remaining boats will compete in the Petite Qualifier. A second set of Division III races takes place in mid-afternoon on Friday. The Grand Final is slated for Saturday at 11:30 a.m., following the Petite Final at 11:15 and the Third Final at 11 a.m.

The Bobcats are led by senior three-time All-American and captain Nicole Ritchie (East Dummerston, Vt.), sophomore All-American Rebecca Waldo (Dracut, Mass.) and senior captain Caitlin Murphy (Duxbury, Mass.). Also on the first varsity eight boat are senior stroke Emily Chandler (North Yarmouth, Maine), first-year Haley Sive (Glenville, N.Y.), sophomore Rebecca Waldo (Dracut, Mass.), sophmore Emma White (Bainbridge Island, Wash.), senior Laura Hubbell (Yarmouth, Maine), junior Danica Doroski (Wayne, Pa.) in the bow and sophomore Nora Collins (Kensington, Md.) at coxswain.

The Bates second varsity eight at New Englands consisted of sophomore stroke Kirsten Laaspere (Londonderry, N.H.), sophomore Ellen Patterson (St. Louis Park, Minn.), junior Josie Cutts (Kittery Point, Maine), first-year Elizabeth Sonshine (Short Hills, N.J.), first-year Allison Di Salvo (Lowell, Mass.), sophomore Phoebe Reed (Brooklyn, N.Y.), junior Alison Frye (Duxbury, Mass.), sophomore Davina Dukuly (Lowell, Mass.) in the box and sophomore Tracy Glazier (Weston, Mass.) at coxswain.

See the May 27, 2009 story and photo gallery from the Lewiston Sun Journal about Bates women's rowing

Other helpful links for following the Bobcats at NCAAs:

Live Schedule Results (includes heat sheets)


Live Mobile Minisite Schedule Results (includes heat sheets)

Live Streaming Video and Audio (Saturday)

The championships are comprised of seven teams and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and a coxswain.  Two at-large Eights also are selected.  The following are the berths that are allocated:  Pool A – one (Pool A consists of the conference that have been awarded automatic qualification); Pool B/C – six (Pools B and C include independents, institutions from conferences that do not meet automatic-qualification standards and Pool A institutions that did not receive their conference’s automatic qualification.  Due to the fact that Pool A only has one automatic-qualifying conference, Pools B and C have been collapsed).