Header Background

Doroski, Sanderson earn All-ECAC rowing team honors



LEWISTON, Maine -- A pair of Bates College rowers, one each from the men's and women's teams, were named to the 2010 ECAC National Invitational Rowing Championships All-Conference Teams, as announced on Thursday by the Eastern College Athletic Conference.

From the Bates men's team, senior Cory Sanderson (West Newton, Mass.) received All-ECAC honors, after helping to propel the Bates men's varsity eight finish third out of six boats in its preliminary heat in 6:10.252, less than seven seconds behind the leader, the University of Michigan, and a mere 2.107 seconds behind runner-up Hobart. The Bobcats then advanced to the Petite Final, where they placed sixth in 6:12.186. The 6-foot-4, 220-pound Sanderson is one of the team's two captains.

From the Bates women's rowing team, senior Danica Doroski (Wayne, Pa.) also earned All-ECAC honors. She helped propel the Bates women's first varsity eight (WV8) win its preliminary heat in a time of 7:06.783, automatically advancing to the Grand Final. There the Bobcats were edged by rival Trinity for third place (behind Williams and Ithaca) by a mere .164 of a second, in a time of 6:48.084, at the same time edging out the University of New Hampshire for fourth place by only .63 of a second. One of three captains on the team, Doroski is the lone member of the Bobcats making the trip to the NCAA Division III Women's Rowing Championships for a fourth consecutive year. Doroski has also earned ECAC/NIRC Stewards' All-Academic Team honors, as well as NESCAC Spring All-Academic honors.

Go to the ECAC National Invitational Rowing Championships All-Conference Teams release