Header Background

Six Bates rowers named to inaugural All-NESCAC teams







HADLEY, Mass. -- Six members of the Bates College men's and women's rowing teams were cited Tuesday as the New England Small College Athletic Conference released its inaugural All-Conference Rowing Teams.

Named to the Men's All-Conference First Team were seniors James Grant (Chevy chase, Md.) and Graham Pearson (Irvington, N.Y.), while senior Glenn Kelly (Chevy Chase, Md.) earned Second Team honors.

The Women's All-Conference First Team features Bates sophomore Haley Sive (Glenville, N.Y.) and junior Rebecca Waldo (Dracut, Mass.), while sophomore Kelsey Dion (Truckee, Calif.) made the Second Team.

The 10-member squads are comprised of individuals from the eight league teams based on their finish at the NESCAC Championships, which were held in conjunctino with the ECAC National Invitational Rowing Championship May 8-9. There Bates finished third overall among NESCAC teams in the women's varsity eights, getting edged by Trinity by a mere .164 of a second in the Grand Final. The Bates men's varsity eight was also third among NESCAC crews at the regatta, behind only Williams and Trinity, as the Bobcats made the Petite Final there.

Bates, Trinity and Williams are the only NESCAC schools to place any All-Conference team members on the First Team.

The Bates women's rowing team heads to California today for its fourth consecutive trip to the NCAA Division III Women's Rowing Championships, held at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Golden River, Calif.

View the 2010 NESCAC Men's & Women's Rowing All-Conference Teams release (PDF)