Header Background

Women's crew ready to race at NCAA Championships on Friday

The Bates women's rowing team begins its fourth consecutive NCAA Championship appearance Friday morning at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center. (File photo by Lindsay Thomson '10)

GOLDEN RIVER, Calif. -- The Bates College women's rowing team flew out to Sacramento from Manchester, N.H., on Tuesday, reuniting with the Jack Ryan and the Katherine Quincy Kemp , the two Hudson eights the women will be racing in their fourth consecutive trip to the NCAA Women's Division III Rowing Championship. And finally, the team is ready to start racing on Friday morning. The first round flight of three Division III heats take place at 8 a.m., 8:15 and 8:30 Pacific time, followed by the Petite and Grand Qualifiers Friday afternoon at 3 and 3:15 p.m.

The Bobcats' first varsity eight is ranked fourth by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association, behind Williams, Ithaca and Trinity. But the team is confident in its ability to do better than that, and even contend for the championship, believing in the depth shown throughout the season by the equally important second varsity eight (2V8), and knowing now what it's like to finish a close second to the NCAA champions, after Bates did just that in 2009, finishing second to four-time repeat champion Williams both as a team and in the 1V8 Grand Final race.

Bates received its first bid to the NCAA Championships in 2007, finishing third as a team. The Bobcats returned and placed fifth in 2008. Last year at Cooper River, N.J., the team placed second, the top finish ever for any Bates team at an NCAA Championship.

Bates is headed by captains Danica Doroski '10 (Wayne, Pa.), Alison Frye '10 (Duxbury, Mass.) and Ellen Patterson '11 (St. Louis Park, Minn.). Other team members expected to make the trip include sophomore Haley Sive (Glenville, N.Y.), junior and 2009 Pocock All-American Rebecca Waldo (Dracut, Mass.), sophomore Elizabeth Sonshine (Short Hills, N.J.), sophomore Amy Jacks (Baltimore, Md.), junior Phoebe Reed (Brooklyn, N.Y.), senior Lindsay Thomson (West Hartford, Conn.), sophomore Allison DiSalvo (Lowell, Mass.), junior Davina Dukuly (Lowell, Mass.), first-year Amanda Goss (Bainbridge Island, Wash.), sophomore Kelsey Dion (Truckee, Calif.), junior Emma White (Bainbridge Island, Wash.), junior Hannah Richardson (Concord, Mass.), first-year Catherine Tuttle (Pittsford, N.Y.). sophomore Caroline Webb (Tiburon, Calif.), junior Nora Collins (Kensington, Md.), first-year Elizabeth Bowling (Greenwood Village, Colo.), first-year Carrie Dillaway (Woodbridge, Conn.) and first-year Victoria Zapack (Charlotte, N.C.).

The championships are comprised of seven teams and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and a coxswain.  Two at-large Eights also are selected.  The following are the berths that are allocated:  Pool A: one (Pool A consists of the conference that have been awarded automatic qualification); Pool B/C: six (Pools B and C include independents, institutions from conferences that do not meet automatic-qualification standards and Pool A institutions that did not receive their conference’s automatic qualification.  Due to the fact that Pool A only has one automatic-qualifying conference, Pools B and C have been collapsed).


Pool A


*Automatic qualifier

Pool B/C



Puget Sound

St. Lawrence

Trinity (Connecticut)


At-Large I Eights

Mary Washington

William Smith

Go to the 2010 NCAA Women's Rowing Championships website

Go to the team blog, The Bates Rower

The 2010 CBS Sports Presents Championships of the NCAA (spring seasonal show), featuring highlights from the women's rowing championships, will air at 4 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, June 19, on CBS.