Header Background

Women's rowing receives fourth straight NCAA Championships bid

The Bates women's rowing team will head to Sacramento, Calif., at the end of the month for its fourth consecutive NCAA Championship appearance.

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Bates College women's rowing team received its fourth consecutive bid to the NCAA Division III Women's Rowing Championships, the NCAA announced on Tuesday, as the Division III Women's Rowing Committee selected the eight-team field.

The championships will be held May 28-29 at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, California. Washington State University will serve as host.

Bates received its first bid to the NCAA Championships in 2007, finishing third overall. The Bobcats returned and placed fifth in 2008. Last year at Cooper River, N.J., the team placed second overall, the top finish ever for any Bates team at an NCAA Championship.

Bates is headed by captains Danica Doroski '10 (Wayne, Pa.), Alison Frye '10 (Duxbury, Mass.) and Ellen Patterson '11 (St. Louis Park, Minn.). Other team members expected to make the trip include sophomore Haley Sive (Glenville, N.Y.), junior and 2009 Pocock All-American Rebecca Waldo (Dracut, Mass.), sophomore Elizabeth Sonshine (Short Hills, N.J.), sophomore Amy Jacks (Baltimore, Md.), junior Phoebe Reed (Brooklyn, N.Y.), senior Lindsay Thomson (West Hartford, Conn.), sophomore Allison DiSalvo (Lowell, Mass.), junior Davina Dukuly (Lowell, Mass.), first-year Amanda Goss (Bainbridge Island, Wash.), sophomore Kelsey Dion (Truckee, Calif.), junior Emma White (Bainbridge Island, Wash.), junior Hannah Richardson (Concord, Mass.), first-year Catherine Tuttle (Pittsford, N.Y.). sophomore Caroline Webb (Tiburon, Calif.), junior Nora Collins (Kensington, Md.), first-year Elizabeth Bowling (Greenwood Village, Colo.), first-year Carrie Dillaway (Woodbridge, Conn.) and first-year Victoria Zapack (Charlotte, N.C.).

The championships are comprised of seven teams and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and a coxswain.  Two at-large Eights also are selected.  The following are the berths that are allocated:  Pool A: one (Pool A consists of the conference that have been awarded automatic qualification); Pool B/C: six (Pools B and C include independents, institutions from conferences that do not meet automatic-qualification standards and Pool A institutions that did not receive their conference’s automatic qualification.  Due to the fact that Pool A only has one automatic-qualifying conference, Pools B and C have been collapsed).


Pool A


*Automatic qualifier

Pool B/C



Puget Sound

St. Lawrence

Trinity (Connecticut)


At-Large I Eights

Mary Washington

William Smith

In 2009, Williams captured its fourth consecutive Division III Women's Rowing Championship team title at Cooper River Park in Cherry Hill, New Jersey.

For championship information and results, go to the NCAA Web site at www.ncaa.com.

The 2010 CBS Sports Presents Championships of the NCAA (spring seasonal show), featuring highlights from the women's rowing championships, will air at 4 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, June 19, on CBS.