Header Background

Bates women's varsity eight dominates field in Worcester









N. Collins

WORCESTER, Mass. -- The Bates women's varsity eight took first place out of five boats Saturday at Lake Quinsigamond, defeating the University of New Hampshire, Trinity, Washington College and Skidmore in a regatta hosted by WPI.

The Bates W2V8 posted another strong result, taking second place out of five boats in 7:41.0, second only to Trinity (7;34.9) and well ahead of New Hampshire, Washington College and Skidmore.

The Bates men's varsity eight also had a strong showing, getting edged for first place out of five boats by 1.3 seconds by Trinity, 6:24.8 to 6:26.1. Behind them were New Hampshire (6:32.6), WPI (6:41.1) and Washington College (6:46.2).

Bates' M2V8 took third place out of four boats, beating WPI but trailing Trinity and, by .03 of a second, Washington College.

Bates hosts the CBB Presidents Cup tomorrow at the Bates Boathouse in Greene. The first race starts at 2 p.m., with last race slated for 3:30 p.m. There will be a new shell christening at 4:15 p.m.


The Bates men's varsity eight is comprised by Jason Weeks '11 (Hyde Park, Mass.), Joseph Nowak '11 (Brunswick, Maine), Andre Gobbo '13 (Chesterfield, N.H.), Jordy Winslow '13 (Wilton, Conn.), Peter Haley '13 (Cos Cob, Conn.), Matt Johns '13 (Seaford, N.Y.), Oliver Scholle '12 (Chestnut Hill, Mass.), stroke Peter K. Miller '12 (Philadelphia, Pa.) and coxswain Gabe Silverman '11 (West Hartford, Conn.).

The men's second varsity eight comprises Jon Frye '14 (Duxbury, Mass.), Sam MacGregor '14 (Princeton, N.J.), Caleb Glassman '14 (Radnor, Pa.), Hank Schless '14 (Old Greenwich, Conn.), Harry Chung '11 (Naperville, Ill.), Jake Harwood '14 (Hopkinton, N.H.), Charlie Carey '13 (Lincoln, Mass.), stroke Gar Ditz '14 (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and cox Jake Sandor '14 (Montclair, N.J.).

The lineup for the Bates women's varsity eight has captain Ellen Patterson '11 (St. Louis Park, Minn.) in the bow, followed by Emma White '11 (Bainbridge Island, Wash.), Hannah Richardson '11 (Concord, Mass.), Rebecca Waldo '11 (Dracut, Mass.), Elizabeth Sonshine '12 (Short Hills, N.J.), Haley Sive '12 (Glenville, N.Y.), Kelsey Dion '12 (Truckee, Calif.), stroke Allison DiSalvo '12 (Lowell, Mass.) and at coxswain, captain Nora Collins '11 (Kensington, Md.).

The women's second varsity eight has Aisling Ryan '14 (Millis, Mass.) in the bow, followed by Bliss Baker '14 (Sherborn, Mass.), Alexandra Hill '14 (Wayland, Mass.), Amy Jacks '12 (Baltimore, Md.), Catherine Tuttle '13 (Pittsford, N.Y.), Heather Monty '14 (Bedford, N.H.), Sarah Murphy '14 (Wellesley, Mass.), stroke Hope King '14 (Greenwich, Conn.) and cox Gabby Bilotta '14 (Washington, D.C.).

Go to The Bates Rower blog.