Header Background

Women's rowing receives fifth straight NCAA Championships bid

The Bates women's rowing team will head to Sacramento, Calif., at the end of the month for its fourth consecutive NCAA Championship appearance.

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Bates College women's rowing team received its fourth consecutive bid to the NCAA Division III Women's Rowing Championships, the NCAA announced on Tuesday, as the Division III Women's Rowing Committee selected the eight-team field.

The championships will be held May 27-28 at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, California, for the second year in a row, with Washington State University serving as host.

Bates received its first bid to the NCAA Championships in 2007, finishing third overall. The Bobcats returned and placed fifth in 2008. In 2009 at Cooper River, N.J., the team placed second overall, the top finish ever for any Bates team at an NCAA Championship. The Bobcats repeated as national runners-up at the 2010 regatta at Gold River.

Bates is headed by senior captains Nora Collins (Kensington, Md.) and Ellen Patterson (St. Louis Park, Minn.). Other team members expected to make the trip include two-time Pocock All-American Rebecca Waldo (Dracut, Mass.), junior Haley Sive (Glenville, N.Y.),  junior Elizabeth Sonshine (Short Hills, N.J.), junior Amy Jacks (Baltimore, Md.), senior Phoebe Reed (Brooklyn, N.Y.), junior Allison DiSalvo (Lowell, Mass.), junior Kelsey Dion (Truckee, Calif.), senior Emma White (Bainbridge Island, Wash.), senior Hannah Richardson (Concord, Mass.), sophomore Catherine Tuttle (Pittsford, N.Y.), first-year Aisling Ryan (Millis, Mass.), first-year Bliss Baker (Sherborn, Mass.), first-yar Alexandra Hill (Wayland, Mass.), first-year Heather Monty (Bedford, N.H.), first-year Sarah Murphy (Wellesley, Mass.), first-year Hope King (Greenwich, Conn.) and first-year cox Gabby Bilotta (Washington, D.C.).

The championships are comprised of seven teams and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and a coxswain.  Two at-large Eights also are selected.  The following are the berths that are allocated:  Pool A: one (Pool A consists of the conference that have been awarded automatic qualification); Pool B/C: six (Pools B and C include independents, institutions from conferences that do not meet automatic-qualification standards and Pool A institutions that did not receive their conference’s automatic qualification.  Due to the fact that Pool A only has one automatic-qualifying conference, Pools B and C have been collapsed).


Pool A


*Automatic qualifier

Pool B/C


Trinity (Conn.)


William Smith

At-Large I Eights


Puget Sound

In 2010, Williams edged Bates for the second straight year to capture its fifth consecutive Division III Women's Rowing Championship team title.

For championship information and results, go to the NCAA Web site at www.ncaa.com.

The 2010 CBS Sports Presents Championships of the NCAA (spring seasonal show), featuring highlights from the women's rowing championships, will air at 4 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, June 19, on CBS.