Header Background

Men's rowing has record five members named All-NESCAC


P.C. Miller

P.K. Miller




HADLEY, Mass. -- The Bates men's rowing team's best-ever showing at last weekend's National Invitational Rowing Championships, which double as the NESCAC Rowing Championships, translated into a record five all-conference honorees for the Bobcats on Thursday as the New England Small College Athletic Conference announced its 2012 All-Conference Rowing Teams.

Fourth-year head coach Peter Steenstra was named NESCAC Coach of the Year in both men's and women's rowing, a year after he claimed Women's Rowing Co-Coach of the Year. Steenstra headed program-best efforts at the NIRC on both the men's and women's sides. All six of Bates' boats at the regatta made their respective grand finals, and five of them won silver medals, including the men's varsity eight's first silver in the NIRC Grand Final.

Three senior members of Bates' MV8 were cited as First Team All-NESCAC, the first all-conference honor for all three: captains Peter C. Miller (New York, N.Y.) and Oliver Scholle (Cnestnut Hill, Mass.), as well as Peter K. Miller (Philadelphia, Pa.). Junior Peter Haley (Cos Cob, Conn.) was named Second Team All-NESCAC, his second straight All-NESCAC honor, as was sophomore coxswain Jacob Sandor (Montclair, N.J.).

2012 NESCAC Rowing All-Conference Teams