Header Background

Rowing teams 5-2 vs. WPI, URI, Wellesley

WORCESTER, Mass. -- The Bates men's rowing team won two out of three eights races, and the Bates women won three out of four eights races, in a regatta hosted by WPI on Sunday at Lake Quinsigamond, with Bates, Wellesley and the University of Rhode Island participating.

The Bates men's team racked up wins in the first varsity eights (MV8) and third varsity eights (M3V8), outpacing the host Engineers and URI in both cases. A very competitive MV8 race saw Bates finish the 2,000-meter course in a blazing 6:08.3, 1.44 seconds ahead of runner-up URI (6:09.74), with WPI a close third (6:10.25).

Bates outrowed runner-up URI in the M3V8 race by 9.5 seconds, 6:38.7 to 6:48.2, with WPI right behind URI at 6:49.0. Bates took third place in the M2V8 race, at 6:33.58.

Bates women's team, ranked fourth in Division III in this week's USRowing polls, won the WV8, W2V8 and W3V8 races, and was second out of three in a fourth, novice eights race.

As with the MV8 race, the WV8 race was hotly contested, with Bates finishing first in 6:52.5, followed by No. 5 Wellesley in 6:53.64. WPI checked in third at 7:00.35. Wellesley was a distant third in the W2V8 race, with Bates outpacing runner-up WPI in an impressive time of 6:59.0 to 7:07.5, while in the W3V8 race Bates finished 13.82 seconds ahead of second-place Wellesley, 7:13.5 to 7:27.32.

Bates was second to Wellesley in the WN8 race, 7:27.6 to 7:35.92.

Bates' rowing teams host the Presidents Cup Regatta with Bowdoin and Colby next Sunday morning, April 21, at the Bates Boathouse on the Androscoggin River in Greene, Maine.

Bates lineups:

MV8: Coxswain Jacob Sandor '14, Charlie Carey '13, Hank Schless '14, Peter Haley '13, Welles Mathison '16, Andre Gobbo '13, Nicholas Muccio '16, Matthew Johns '13, and, Matthew Silverman '15

M2V8: Coxswain Maggie Carey '14, Perry Mortimer '15, Sam MacGregor '14, Nicholas Flynn '15, Ryan Conrad '15, Tommy Fitzgerald '16, Alex Hadiaris '15, Caleb Glassman '14 and Jamie Naso '16

M3V8: Coxswain Marit Wettstein '16, Jackson Moore '16, Evan Cooper '15, Andrew Voss '16, Leo Foglizzo '16, Samuel Maher '16, John Albanese '16, Chris Kussmaul '16, William Curley '16'

WV8: Coxswain Gabby Bilotta '14, Alex Hill '14, Heather Monty '14, Mallory Ward '15, Jenna Armstrong '15, Elizabeth Sangree '15, Hope King '14, Aisling Ryan '14, and Eliza Barkan '15

W2V8: Coxswain Molly Huffaker '14, Sarah Murphy '14, Hadley Dawson '14, Lauren Hadiaris '13, Margaux Joselow '16, Taylor Kniffin '14, Emma Taylor '16, Rebecca O'Neill '15, and Alison Simmons '16

W3V8: Coxsain Emma-Kate Lindsay '15, Clara Jessup '16, Rachel Ellis '14, Michelle Kelley '16, Caroline Kern '15, Kiera Degener-O'Brien '16, Hannah Weiss '15, Sarah Brooks '16 and Rebecca Moore '15