Women's rowing receives 7th consecutive NCAA bid

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Bates College women’s rowing team received its seventh consecutive bid to the NCAA Division III Women’s Rowing Championships, the NCAA announced on Monday, as the Division III Women’s Rowing Committee selected the eight-team field.

The championships will be held May 31-June 1 at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, with the Indiana Sports Corporation and Notre Dame serving as hosts.

The championships are comprised of six teams and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and a coxswain. Two at-large Eights also are selected. The following are the berths that are allocated:  Pool A — two (Pool A consists of conferences that have been awarded automatic qualification); Pool B/C — four (Pools B and C include independents, institutions from conferences that do not meet automatic-qualification standards and Pool A institutions that did not receive their conference’s automatic qualification).

Bates received its first bid to the NCAA Championships in 2007, finishing third overall. The Bobcats returned and placed fifth in 2008. In 2009 at Cooper River, N.J., the team placed second overall, the top finish ever for any Bates team at an NCAA Championship. The Bobcats repeated as national runners-up at the 2010 and 2011 NCAA Championships, both at Gold River, Calif., and again in 2012 in West Windsor, N.J.

Athletes returning to NCAAs on Bates' first varsity eight include Mallory Ward ’15 (Pittsford, N.Y.), Hope King ’14 (Greenwich, Conn.), Alexandra Hill ’14 (Wayland, Mass.), Heather Monty ’14 (Bedford, N.H.), and coxswain Gabriella Bilotta ’14 (Washington, D.C.). Members of last year's W2V8 returning as members of Bates' WV8 include Aisling Ryan '14 (Millis, Mass.), Jenna Armstrong '15 (Florham Park, N.J.), Elizabeth Sangree '15 (Ashford, Conn.) and Eliza Barkan '15 (Seattle, Wash.).

Returning to NCAAs as W2V8 members or alternates are coxswain Molly Huffaker (Ithaca, N.Y.), Sarah Murphy '14 (Wellesley, Mass.), captain Lauren Hadiaris (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) and Taylor Kniffin '14 (Stamford, Conn.). First-time NCAA competitors on the W2V8 include Alison Simmons '16 (Indiana, Pa.), Hadley Dawson '14 (Wayland, Mass.), Margaux Joselow '16 (Manchester, N.H.), Emma Taylor '16 (Scituate, Mass.) and Rebecca O'Neill '15 (Westminster, Vt.).

POOL A (Automatic Bids)
Washington (Md.)

Trinity (Conn.)
William Smith

Puget Sound

In 2012, Williams edged Bates for the fourth straight year to capture its sixth consecutive Division III Women’s Rowing Championship team title.

Teams, boats selected for 2013 NCAA Division III rowing championship