Header Background

Women's varsity eight earns silver at NICR/ECAC

WORCESTER, Mass. -- All four of the Bates womens' rowing team's boats competed in their respective grand finals on Sunday at the National Invitational Collegiate Regatta and ECAC Rowing Championships Sunday on Lake Quinsigamond, highlighted by the Bobcat varsity eight's second-place finish in its grand final.

The Bobcats put on an impressive performance in the grand final, well outpacing the field but for Williams, which won in 6:35.434, just 1.558 seconds ahead of Bates (6:37.876). William Smith finished third in 6:43.184, followed by Trinity (7:47.988), Wellesley (6:50.536) and New Hampshire (6:53.197). The NICR also doubles as the NESCAC Rowing Championship, making the Bobcats again the second-place team in the conference.

Bates' W2V8 won the second of three preliminary heats in 6:55.677, nearly four seconds ahead of runner-up Wellesley (6:59.604). The Bobcats claimed the bronze medal at 7:34.740 in the grand final, trailing Williams (7:25.196) and Trinity (7:30.682) but beating out Ithaca (7:42.653), Wellesley (7:50.514) and William Smith (7:57.755).

Bates' W3V8 also won the second of three preliminary heats, finishing in 7:10.125 to runner-up WPI's 7:17.561. The grand final saw Trinity win in 7:11.266, followed by Williams (7:14.424), Bates (7:25.180), WPI (7:31.476), Ithaca (7:32.835) and Tufts (7:49.323).

Bates' novice eight (WN8) finished third, close behind Coast Guard (7:22.825 to 7:23.599) to reach the grand final, where the Bobcats placed sixth in 7:52.990.

Bates seems assured of gaining its seventh consecutive bid to the NCAA Division III Women's Rowing Championship, held in Indianapolis May 31-June 2. The Division III Rowing selection show will be shown on NCAA.com on Monday at 7pm.


Women’s Boats:

Varsity 8: coxswain Gabby Bilotta ’14, Aisling Ryan ’14, Jenna Armstrong ’15, Mallory Ward ’15, Heather Monty ’14 , Alexandra Hill ’14, Hope King ’14, Elizabeth Sangree ’15, Eliza Barkan ’15

2nd Varsity 8: coxswain Molly Huffaker ’14, Alison Simmons ’16 , Hadley Dawson ’14, Sarah Murphy ’14, Margaux Joselow ’16, Taylor Kniffin ’14, Emma Taylor ’16, Rebecca O’Neill ’15, Lauren Hadiaris ’13.

3rd Varsity 8: coxsain Emma-Kate Lindsay ’15, Michelle Kelley ’16, Rachel Ellis ’14, Kiera Degener-O’Brien ’16, Caroline Kern ’15, Hannah Weiss ’15, Caroline Caldwell ’15, Sarah Brooks ’16, Rebecca Moore ’15

Novice 8: coxswain Nancy Tran ’16, Sarah Brooks ’16, Emilie Muller ’16, Katharine Wick ’16, Lydia Merizon ’16, Folashade Ade-Banjo ’16, Emma Conover ’16, Kaylyn Kipper ’16, Aris Margosian ’16.