Header Background

Women's squash reaps in NESCAC postseason awards

Cheri-Ann Parris '13 was named both Rookie of the Year and First Team All-Conference by the NESCAC.




HADLEY, Mass. -- Before this year, no women's squash player had received First Team All-Conference honors from the New England Small College Athletic Conference, in the two-year existence of the All-NESCAC squash awards. Now they have two. Thursday's announcement of the 2010 NESCAC Womens' Squash All-Conference Team revealed that first-year Cheri-Ann Parris and senior Hannah Laverty were both named First Team All-NESCAC.

The awards continued from there for the Bobcats, as Parris was named NESCAC Rookie of the Year, while head coach Pat Cosquer '97 was named NESCAC Coach of the Year.

Parris (St. Phillip, Barbados) established herself immediately as the No. 1 player in Bates' starting lineup, and she only seemed to get better as the season wore on. She finished the season with a sparkling 19-8 record while facing each opponent's top player. Parris defeated highly ranked opponents from Brown, Mount Holyoke, Amherst and Bowdoin.

Laverty (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) finished a strong four-year career at Bates with her finest season. After playing the No. 1 spot for Bates as a sophomore and junior, Laverty played the second spot in the lineup in all but one match in dual play this season, and notched an impressive 19-10 record, finishing her career at 56-48 overall.

Cosquer was also named NESCAC Men's Squash Coach of the Year on the same day. In his second year as head coach, Cosquer led the Bobcats to a 19-8 record, third place in the NESCAC Championship and a final No. 11 national ranking by the College Squash Association. His combined record with the men's and women's teams is 67-35.

View the 2010 NESCAC Women's Squash All-Conference Team release (PDF)