Header Background

Ariffin, Parris, Kelly repeat as All-NESCAC selections

Nessrine Ariffin '15 earned First Team All-NESCAC honors for the second straight year, despite missing much of the season with injury. File photo by Preston Carey '96.

Myriam Kelly '15 posted a 10-7 individual record, playing largely at the second and third positions in Bates' lineup this season. File photo by Michael Bradley/Bates College.

HADLEY, Mass. -- Bates sophomore Nessrine Ariffin and senior Cheri-Ann Parris were both named First Team All-NESCAC, and sophomore Myriam Kelly was named Second Team All-NESCAC on Thursday as the New England Small College Athletic Conference announced its end-of-season awards.

All three Bates honorees received the same honor last season, with Ariffin also being named NESCAC Rookie of the Year. For Parris (St. Philip, Barbados), the honor signifies her standing as First Team All-NESCAC in all four of her seasons in a Bates uniform.

Ariffin, Parris and Kelly manned the top three positions for the Bobcats (8-13) in their recent surge to a final national ranking of No. 10 at the CSA Women's Team Nationals at Yale.

Ariffin (Penang, Malaysia) had two stints out of action with injury, but amassed a 6-5 record against Bates' opponents' No. 1 players when she did take the court.

Parris went 15-6 over the year, playing at both No. 1 and No. 2 for the Bobcats, and has finished out with six straight wins, including a 3-0 weekend at CSA Team Nationals.

Kelly (Bronx, N.Y.) posted a 10-7 individual record in 2012-13, playing largely at the second and third positions in Bates' lineup.

2013 NESCAC Women's Squash All-Conference Team